乌鲁鲁和土著文化

在数千年以前,在乌鲁鲁(Uluru)周边一带就已经有人类在这里定居,尽管它在1800年代才被白人所“发现”,而乌鲁鲁和土著文化在今天紧密地相互交织在一起。事实上,乌鲁鲁(艾尔斯岩石)对于居住在这里的当地皮坚加加拉(Pitjantjatajra)部落是一个神圣和敬畏的地方。

乌鲁鲁和土著文化

尽管人们这些年来已经游历和攀爬过乌鲁鲁岩石,但是土著人还是宁愿他们不要那样做。土著人的祖先徒步在今天游人行走的小径上,而在岩石上很多的洞穴对于他们意味深长,那里留下了他们古老祖先的岩石绘画。乌鲁鲁岩石是世界遗产,然而尽管目前是受保护的国家公园的一部分,但是有朝一日,它将成为攀登者无法进入的禁区。

土著文化显明乌鲁鲁岩石是由土著的祖先在“梦世纪”(Dreamtime)所形成的。岩石的很多洞穴和裂缝就被认作有关的证据,而在乌鲁鲁四周的某些物体形象据称代表者祖先的灵魂。今天,各种形式的仪式仍然经常在岩石底部的洞穴里举行,那里标示着“不允许拍摄”以视尊重。

想现场了解更多关于乌鲁鲁和土著文化的信息,乌鲁鲁-卡塔丘塔(Uluru-Kata Tjuta) 土著文化中心就是参观游览的地方。那里是一栋很迷人的建筑,恰恰在乌鲁鲁岩石的南面。那里的阿男姑人(Anangu)通常会给游人讲述他们祖先的故事。在纪念品商店,还有艺术品和工艺品可供购买。

游客还可以在土著向导的陪同下对阿男姑人进行探访,以认识更多土著文化和乌鲁鲁的信息。这包括利鲁步道(Liru Walk),游客可以一边认识蓝舌蜥蜴人,一边了解其传统的绘画技艺。

Map of Australia's Red Centre

Uluru / Ayers RockUluru / Ayers Rock
Great Barrier Reef IslandsAttractions
更多的澳大利亚绝妙风景

大堡礁 (Great Barrier Reef) | Lord Howe Island | Kangaroo Island | Port Stephens | Nelson Bay | Shoal Bay | Hunter Valley
Kimberley Australia | Broome | Cable Beach | Great Ocean Road | Australia's Best Beaches | Aussie Hotel Bookings
想拥有及探索更多澳大利亚与众不同的旅游体验及风景,请浏览: Wiki Australia.

Uluru and Aboriginal Culture

The area around Uluru was settled thousands of years ago, and although it was ‘discovered’ by the white man in the 1800s, Uluru and Aboriginal culture are very much entwined today. In fact, Uluru (Ayers Rock) is sacred to the local Pitjantjatjara tribe that live here. It was said to have come about during the much fabled Dreamtime.

why is uluru sacred - Uluru Aboriginal Culture

Although people have been visiting and climbing Uluru for years, the Aborigines would prefer they didn’t. Aboriginal ancestors walked the path that tourists do today, and many of the caves around the rock hold deep meanings for them and contain ancient rock paintings. Uluru is a World Heritage site, and although part of a protected national park, there may come a time when it could be off-limits to climbers.

Why is Uluru sacred?

Aboriginal culture dictates that Uluru was formed by ancestral beings during Dreamtime. The rock’s many caves and fissures are thought to be evidence of this, and some of the forms around Uluru are said to represent ancestral spirits. Rituals are still often held today in the caves around the base where ‘No Photography’ signs are posted out of respect.

To learn more about Uluru and Aboriginal culture onsite, the Uluru-Kata Tjuta Aboriginal Cultural Centre is the place to visit. It lies just south of Uluru in an intriguing building. The Anangu people here tell visitors stories about their ancestors and the rock in general. There are also arts and crafts available for purchase in the souvenir shop.

Visitors can also do Anangu Tours with Aboriginal guides in order to gain more insight into Aboriginal culture and Uluru. These encompass the Liru Walk, and tourists get to learn about the Blue Tongue Lizard Man while learning traditional bush skills.

Map of Australia's Red Centre

Uluru / Ayers RockUluru / Ayers Rock
Great Barrier Reef IslandsAttractions

Experiences at Uluru + Kata Tjuta

Most visitors would have seen photos featuring Uluru, but nothing prepares you for the experience of being exposed to this expansive living cultural landscape. Experience many wonderful features of this region, including Uluru or Ayers Rock, and Kata Tjuta, also known as the Olgas.

More great Australian travel destinations
About 'Uluru Australia'

Uluru Australia is a 'Web Magazine' website that is dedicated to all things related to Uluru (Ayers Rock). We are passionate about Australia's iconic red centre, its vast open landscapes and the unforgetable experiences that are waiting for all who visit. Our aim is to discuss Uluru, its history, its environment, its wildlife and its spectacular destinations. We hope that this website will inspire all who visit, just as much as Uluru has inspired us.

Travel web design

Travel and tourism website design by Jimmyweb