何为乌鲁鲁巨石(Uluru)

大部分人都能认出艾尔斯岩(Ayers Rock)的标志性形象,纵使他们并不知道巨石准确的位置或模样。这块匪夷所思的红砂岩单体巨石在澳洲平坦的沙漠上陡然拔地而起,并且相当接近这个国家的地理中心位置。

乌鲁鲁巨石(Uluru),是当地土著人所家喻户晓的,对他们来说,这是个非常神圣和敬畏的地方。但是来自世界的游客,仅为一睹艾尔斯岩的芳容,而并没有联想到巨石身上所谓的魔力和能量。

乌鲁鲁巨石无疑是澳洲最容易识别的地标之一。巨石离地高348米,但是巨石的大部分还隐藏在地表下,周长接近10英里。在地质术语里,这可称为岛状山。鉴于其雄伟和异乎寻常,联合国教科文组织UNESCO将其列入世界遗产名录。

每年数以十万计的游客前往艾尔斯岩旅游,就是为一瞥它那让人望而生畏的真容。乌鲁鲁巨石其闻名之处在于能够根据一年不同的时节和一天不同的时间改变其颜色。日出和日落是观看艾尔斯岩特别迷人和神奇的时候,在那时,它将散发出超乎自然的浅红色调。

对于当地原住民,阿男姑人(Anangu)来说,艾尔斯岩一个聚集着大量能量的地方,对他们意味着很多东西,包括宇宙的中心和大地母亲的家。数万年以来,阿男姑人在艾尔斯岩上创造的雕刻和绘画艺术,今天被视之为国家的文化瑰宝。

很多前往艾尔斯岩的游客会试图攀爬这座单体砂岩巨石。这在当地原住民和管理整个乌鲁鲁-卡塔丘塔(Uluru-Kata Tijuta)国家公园的公园服务方产生争议。原住民期望游客可以远离他们的敬畏区域,但是公园里就标注有登上乌鲁鲁巨石顶部的路径。游客如果不顾当地文化的阻吓,就可以在乌鲁鲁巨石的顶部欣赏到壮丽的景观。

Map of Australia's Red Centre

Uluru / Ayers RockUluru / Ayers Rock
Great Barrier Reef IslandsAttractions
更多的澳大利亚绝妙风景

大堡礁 (Great Barrier Reef) | Lord Howe Island | Kangaroo Island | Port Stephens | Nelson Bay | Shoal Bay | Hunter Valley
Kimberley Australia | Broome | Cable Beach | Great Ocean Road | Australia's Best Beaches | Aussie Hotel Bookings
想拥有及探索更多澳大利亚与众不同的旅游体验及风景,请浏览: Wiki Australia.

What is Uluru?

What is Uluru?What is Uluru? Most people can recognise the iconic image of Uluru even if they don’t know exactly where or what it is. This surreal monolith of red sandstone rises abruptly out of the flat Australian desert very close to the geographical centre of the country.

Uluru, as it is known to the indigenous Aboriginal people, is a very sacred place. But visitors from around the world who come for an Ayers Rock tour have no trouble relating to the magic and power of this formation.

Uluru is easily one of Australia’s most recognisable landmarks. It rises 348 meters above the ground, but the bulk of this rock, which has a circumference of nearly 10 miles, lies underground. In geological terms, it is known as an island mountain. Such is its rarity and majesty that UNESCO has placed Uluru on its World Heritage sites list.

Hundreds of thousands of people make a tour of Ayers Rock every year to get a glimpse of this sacred rock. Uluru is famous for its ability to change colour based on the time of year and the time of day. Sunrise and sunset are particularly magical times to see Ayers Rock when it seems to glow an unearthly reddish hue.

For the local Anangu Aboriginal people, Ayers Rock is a place a great power. It is many things to the Anangu, including the centre of the universe and the home of the Earth Mother. For tens of thousands of years, the Anangu have created petroglyphs on Ayers Rock that are now considered national cultural treasures.

Many people who come to take a tour of Ayers Rock are tempted to climb the sandstone monolith. This is a point of controversy between the local Aboriginal people and the national park service that manages the entire area under Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park. The Aboriginal people would prefer visitors to stay off their sacred site, but there are marked trails leading across and atop Ayers Rock. Visitors who aren’t deterred by the cultural warnings will get spectacular views from the top of Uluru.

Map of Australia's Red Centre

Uluru / Ayers RockUluru / Ayers Rock
Great Barrier Reef IslandsAttractions

Experiences at Uluru + Kata Tjuta

Most visitors would have seen photos featuring Uluru, but nothing prepares you for the experience of being exposed to this expansive living cultural landscape. Experience many wonderful features of this region, including Uluru or Ayers Rock, and Kata Tjuta, also known as the Olgas.

More great Australian travel destinations
About 'Uluru Australia'

Uluru Australia is a 'Web Magazine' website that is dedicated to all things related to Uluru (Ayers Rock). We are passionate about Australia's iconic red centre, its vast open landscapes and the unforgetable experiences that are waiting for all who visit. Our aim is to discuss Uluru, its history, its environment, its wildlife and its spectacular destinations. We hope that this website will inspire all who visit, just as much as Uluru has inspired us.

Travel web design

Travel and tourism website design by Jimmyweb
Sydney website design by Jimmyweb
Blue Mountains website design by iVent